top of page

Reflective Blog - Week 4

I have always wondered what the difference between a review and a criticism of ones work was. I mean they almost seem the same at first glance however they perform very different functions. A review is basically selling to the audience, what your product/art is for example, discussing why your film is worth watching. A criticism however is a discussion of the product/art as an object and is more aimed I think at your peers.

Personally even though I know this difference, it is difficult at times to work out if the piece is a review or a criticism when a review is a negative review. Positive reviews make you feel good and may help you to get more press and your product/art viewed but what tangible value is it on your growth journey?

If I had a choice in my early stages of this industry I believe constructive criticism is the only one of value to me personally. There is no point having your work torn apart just for the sake of it as often times it just crushes the spirit and doesn't highlight what you need to improve on so that you can learn and grow and develop your work. Often times the feedback we as artists get on our work is what I would call arbitrary. If they like us then they will say it was wonderful even if it was bland.

As a developing maker of art I recognise the importance of finding people who I can trust, who know the craft and can give constructive feedback. Anyone else making random comments that don't know the industry are just in some ways wasting my time because they are not adding anything to my growth other than negativity or false praise. This used to sway me a lot before I developed my support network of creatives that will bluntly tell me how they see it but with a view for my betterment as a creative myself. Their advice and guidance is invaluable in a way that no one else's comments would be because they are invested in me and my journey and have been in similar places to me on their own journey.

Once my art was ready to head out into the public sphere I would invited targeted reviewers to review my product. I have been thinking about this a lot over this week and I think it is a wise decision to ask reviewers who you know won't give you a positive review as much as those who will. I know this seems strange but hear me out. Australian's love an underdog but if everyone hates your work then why would anyone want to see it? This is my thinking anyway.

I feel it is important to have different reviewers so that there can be debate over their reviews over who people believe is right or wrong. There is nothing better for us as humans than to have healthy discussions together over different view points and what we agree or disagree about. In this end I think my work would have a greater traction in the market place because it would have organic growth on social media as people discuss the merits or lack of, of my work. If my work is great, the public love it and yet the reviewers hate it this would make me an under dog in the eyes of the public when those of the public go and see the film and talk about how much they enjoyed it.

Art is for everyone and it is all subjective. Not everyone has to like it and not everyone will. People talking about your work however does impact your community and other communities now that we are more and more a global society. I intend to make films that show stories in a different light to traditional films. In doing so I hope to change how relationships, men, women and children are viewed for the better and bring about lasting change. I want to move people emotionally. Once I have people passionately discussing my work then I will know I made a great film.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page